Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: Library Home

Welcome

take the satisfaction survey

We want to hear from you!


Sample Ballot

Chat with a Librarian

Chat with a librarian. If a librarian is not currently available, submit your question and we will get back with you as soon as possible. 

 

 

Discover@Hinds Libraries

Search Articles, Books, and More...






Tips: Use this search box to find articles, books, eBooks, eReference, eAudio, and eVideos. Use key terms (not sentences) and join key terms with and (example: cancer and treatment).
Search Library Holdings

          Advanced Search
Search Library Holdings

          Advanced Search


eBook Vendors

Alexander Street Press L.A. Theater Works Collection
300 dramatic works in streaming audio from L.A.'s radio theatre company.

eBooks (EBSCO)
Collection includes a wide range of academic research, reference, and reading materials pertinent to community colleges.

eBooks (Proquest)
Collection includes a wide range of vocational and technical books including nursing and allied health.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of online reference books.

Hoopla
E-video (movies and TV shows), music, audiobooks, ebooks and comics.

Overdrive
eBooks and audiobook collection of current/popular/best sellers in fiction and nonfiction.

Salem Press
Well known and highly used reference and career resources in Health, History, Literature and Science.

LibroVox
Free audiobooks of public domain works from authors such as Dickens, Chaucer, and hundreds of others.


Search the eReference Collection



Individual eReference Collections

AtoZ the World
AtoZ the World has country guide information to 175 nations and includes information on societies, cultures, and maps.

AtoZ World Food
6,500 recipes from 174 countries; articles on national and regional cuisine, dining etiquette, special occasion foods; and reference resources on beverages, sauces, quotes, cooking conversions, food history, glossaries, and more.

AtoZ Maps Online
Comprehensive collection of royalty-free downloadable of more than 100,000 maps maps, map resources, visual glossaries, video dictionaries, geography learning games, and teacher resources.

Salem Health
Collection of award-winning health reference works such as Magill’s Medical Guide.

Salem History
Collection of history reference works including Milestone Documents, The Decades, Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles covering all areas of information.
Salem Literature
Collection of literary reference works such as the Critical Insights series as well as the recently revised Critical Survey of Long Fiction and Critical Survey of Poetry and Magill's Literary Annual and Masterplots, 4th Edition.
Gale Reference
Collection of reference books on a wide variety of subjects such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.
Salem Science
Collection of science reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Encyclopedia of Energy, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, and Encyclopedia of Global Warming. 
Search Most Streaming Videos Owned by Hinds

   Advanced Search

Tips: At the moment, this search does not include videos from Hoopla. Click on the Hoopla database title to search more titles.
Off-campus access requires a HindsNet login and password.

Popular Educational Career

SWANK

HOOPLA                     

Tugg

Films on Demand (Academic and Technical)

Kanopy Films (Documentary)

OverDrive (Instructional & Documentary)

Alexander Street Press (Health)

Career & Job Search

Please click here for more information on streaming videos and additional search options.

Did You Know?

Information logo for Hoopla, which includes a hand borrowing an electronic book on a digital device.

Hoopla Is Now Available Through Hinds Libraries

Hinds District Libraries now offer Hoopla for its patronsHoopla is a leading provider of entertainment media products and services.  It provides an enormous selection of digital video (movies and TV shows), music, audiobooks, ebooks and comics. Content is available through computer browsers, phones, tablets, and TV products.  Hinds Libraries currently limits patron borrowing to 5 titles per month.  Please click on the slide title to learn more about Hoopla and how to sign up.

Image of various quotation or dialogue bubbles with the phrase

Need Information on How to Cite Sources?

Are you looking for information on citing sources and generating citations? Check out our "Researching and Citing" LibGuide. It contains all you will need to know on citing sources correctly. Click on slide title to go directly to the Researching and Citing LibGuide.

Register to Vote and then Vote

Now is the time for your voice to be heard.

Register today. Be at the polls November 3rd, 2020

It`s time for a Change. Register and then Vote! 

vote.gov

Breast Cancer

It is said that 1 in 8 women in the U.S. will Develop Breast Cancer in her Lifetime.

nationalbreastcancer.org

 

photo by:123rf.com

Domestic Violence

There is Help. People still care.

National Violence Hotline- thehotline.org 

Home Safe- safeshelter.net

Hinds anti-racism guide to books

Anti-Racism Reading List

A HindsCC reading list guide based on the Mississippi Humanities Council Anti-Racism reading list

https://libguides.hindscc.edu/antiracism

Spooky October

 Mississippi has many wonderful ghost stories and tales of the supernatural. Check out some local tales here

Schedule Online Meeting

Need help with research? Need help finding resources for your class? Whether you are faculty or a student, schedule an online one-on-one meeting with a librarian. Click/Tap the button below to schedule a meeting soon.

COVID-19 Archival Project

Your Voice, Your Story

The Hinds COVID-19 Memory Archival Project aims to document how Hinds Community College, its administrators, faculty, staff, students, alumni and the Hinds communities experienced the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020. Share your experiences with future generations.

 

New and Notable Titles

Black Panther movie

Streaming video - Swank

Cover image of The People Code by Taylor Hartman

E-book - Overdrive

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins audiobook

E-audiobook - Hoopla

Video of Space Colonies

Streaming video - Films on Demand

Cover of 149 Paintings You Really Need to See in North America by Julian Porter and Stephen Grant

Ebook - Ebook Central

The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin

E-audiobook - Ebsco

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

E-book - Hoopla

Make Stress Work for You video

Evideo - Kanopy

Cover picture of The Resisters by Gish Jen

E-audiobook - Overdrive

A Guide to the Good Life by William B. Irvine

Streaming video - Swank

Cover picture of The Big Short

Streaming video - Hoopla

Censored and Banned Literature ebook

Ebook - Salem Press