Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: Archives

Library Archive

About

Hinds Community College provides access to materials in two archives. One is located on the Raymond Campus in the McLendon Library. The other is located on the Utica Campus in the William H. Holtzclaw Library. The archives were established to preserve and make accessible records which are deemed to be of continuing value to Hinds Community College. The collections are intended to be used by students, faculty and alumni of the institution as well as interested researchers.

Raymond Campus

The McLendon Library hosts the Hinds Community College Archives. The collection includes items from or about the former Hinds Agricultural High School, Hinds Junior College, and the current Hinds Community College and all of its locations. Items in the collection include yearbooks, student newspapers, college catalogs, student handbooks, operational documents of the college, photographs, memorabilia, architectural records, and minutes of meetings. This collection also includes the John Bell Williams Collection, which was presented to the college by the family of the former Mississippi Governor and U. S. Representative.

Utica Campus

The William H. Holtzclaw Library hosts the William H. Holtzclaw Jr. Black Heritage Collection and the Utica Normal & Industrial Institute Archives. The collection includes historical information on Hinds Community College—Utica Campus, formerly Utica Junior College, formerly Hinds County Agricultural High School-Utica, formerly the Utica Normal & Industrial Institute. The collection chronicles the Black experience in rural Mississippi from the inception of the Utica Normal & Industrial Institute in 1903 through the merger of Utica Junior College and the Hinds Community College system in 1982. The collection includes operational papers, yearbooks, books, handbooks, manuscripts, photographs, memorabilia, architectural records, correspondence, legal documents, meeting minutes, speeches as well as operational documents of Utica Campus administration.

Mississippi Digital Library

The Mississippi Digital Library (MDL) is the digital library cooperative for the state. The ultimate aim of the cooperative is to provide access to primary source materials covering a wide range of subject areas from Mississippi museums, archives, libraries, and historical societies. The Hinds Community College Collection is part of the MDL and showcases items documenting the college’s history.

 

Digitized Hinds Community College Yearbooks and Catalogs

All Hinds yearbooks and catalogs have been digitized and are now available to the public because of the monetary support of the Hinds Alumni Association, Hinds Foundation, and Utica's Title III Program.

Hinds COVID-19 Memory Archival Project

Hinds COVID-19 Memory Archival Project
The COVID-19 Memory Project aims to document how Hinds Community College, its administrators, faculty, staff, students, alumni and the Hinds communities experienced the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020. The project is administered and hosted by the Hinds Community College Libraries Archives and Hinds Community College Public Relations office.

Empty Shelves

This is what most cleaning supply shelves look like at every store, particularly shelves of disinfectant sprays, wipes and liquids. They've looked this way since last March. Most stores added limits to the amount you could buy of those particularly items because so many people were buying as much as they could and emptying the shelves. This particularl shelf is at Target in north Jackson on Sunday, August 16, 2020 11:52 AM.

Three Ways to Stop the Spread

Facebook post on Nursing/Allied Health Library page, April 15, 2020

D'Asya Ellis's Nontraditional High School Graduation

Covid 19 affected my high school graduation. It should have been the best day of my life. Forest high school did a non traditional graduation where we had separate times and our graduation only lasted 10 minutes sadly. I felt so sad at graduation because I couldn’t see my classmate one last time or throw my cap with my classmates. This photo is me with my mom Shari Ellis.

Even Robert Frost Wears a Mask in the Library

In early August 2020, Governor Reeves mandated all people to wear masks in public. The library staff had a little fun with the bust of Robert Frost in the library.

Hinds Digital Collection