Skip to Main Content

Home

Discover@Hinds Libraries

Search Articles, Books, and More...


Tips: Use this search box to find articles, books, eBooks, eReference, eAudio, and eVideos. Use key terms (not sentences) and join key terms with and (example: cancer and treatment).

For better viewing on mobile phones, download the EBSCO app for IOS or Google Play.

Use this search box to search the physical holdings of the library (books, DVDs, etc).

Discover@Hinds

Discover@Hinds

==========================================================================================
Individual eReference Collections

AtoZ The World
AtoZ The World has country guide information to 175 nations and includes information on societies, cultures, and maps.

AtoZ World Food
Recipes from 174 countries; articles on national and regional cuisine, dining etiquette, special occasion foods; beverages, sauces, food history, and more.

Biography Reference Bank
Full text profiles of notable individuals from biographical reference books.

 Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles covering all areas of information.
Gale Reference
Collection of reference books on a wide variety of subjects such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Salem History
Collection of history reference works including Milestone Documents, The Decades, Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Salem Health
Collection of award-winning health reference works such as Magill’s Medical Guide.

Salem Literature
Collection of literary reference works such as the Critical Insights series, Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Critical Survey of Poetry and Magill's Literary Annual and Masterplots, 4th Edition.
Salem Science
Collection of science reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Encyclopedia of Energy, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, and Encyclopedia of Global Warming. 

Discover@Hinds

Tips: At the moment, this search only includes videos from Films on Demand. Click on the database links below to search more titles.
Off-campus access requires a HindsNet login and password.

Popular Educational Career

SWANK

HOOPLA                     

Films on Demand (Academic and Technical)

Kanopy Films (Documentary)

Alexander Street Press (Health)

 Career & Job Search

Please click here for more information on streaming videos and additional search options.

Library Workshop & Event Calendar

Upcoming Events

Loading ...

Did You Know?

November is National Epilepsy Awareness Month

 

Epilepsy:

  • Neurological disorder that causes seizers.
  • Estimated 4 in 100 people will be diagnosed with epilepsy.
  • Effects over 50 million
  • Most common Chronic Neurological Disorder.  

   Causes:

  • Genetics
  • Brain Injury
  • Infection
  • Also seen in people with Autism

Types of seizers:

  • Generalized- ( Absence, Tonic, Clonic, Myclonic)
  • Focal - ( Simple Partial or Complex Partial )
  • Atonic- (Sudden relaxing of Muscles)
  • Status Epilepticus- (a long seizure or a series of seizures)

 

For more information contact: epilepsy.com or ninds.nih.gov ( National Institution of Neurological Disorder and Stroke)

pic by: premierneurologycenter.com

 

Information logo for Hoopla, which includes a hand borrowing an electronic book on a digital device.

Hoopla Is Now Available Through Hinds Libraries

Hinds District Libraries now offer Hoopla for its patrons. Hoopla is a leading provider of entertainment media products and services.  It provides an enormous selection of digital video (movies and TV shows), music, audiobooks, ebooks and comics. Content is available through computer browsers, phones, tablets, and TV products.  Hinds Libraries currently limits patron borrowing to 5 titles per month.  Please click on the slide title to learn more about Hoopla and how to sign up.

Image of various quotation or dialogue bubbles with the phrase

Need Information on How to Cite Sources?

Are you looking for information on citing sources and generating citations? Check out our "Researching and Citing" LibGuide. It contains all you will need to know on citing sources correctly. Click on slide title to go directly to the Researching and Citing LibGuide.

Hinds anti-racism guide to books

Anti-Racism Reading List

 

A HindsCC reading list guide based on the Mississippi Humanities Council Anti-Racism reading list

https://libguides.hindscc.edu/antiracism

New Chrome Ext for Browsers

Libby- By Overdrive

 

Get the Libby APP Today!

For your reading and listening enjoyment.

A Happy Hoopla Holiday!

If movies are on your wish list this year, look no further than Hoopla and HCC Libraries!  We're helping Santa bring plenty of holiday cheer!  All you need is your ID card and a Hoopla account.  

Click here to find out more.

Thanksgiving Break

Your Library