Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Associate Degree Nursing Professional Paper: Home

Need Wifi?

Check out this map of available Wifi places in the state, or click here for an excel sheet listing.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jennifer Smith
Contact:
Nursing/ Allied Health Library
1750 Chadwick Drive
Jackson, MS 39204
601-376-4816

Microsoft Help

Students have access to Microsoft Office 365 through your Hinds Email account. This gives you online access to Word, Excel and Power Point as well as One Drive storage. 

Example Topics

NUR 1119

Safe catheter insertion

Prevention of Foley catheter induced urinary tract infections

Administration of medications through enteral feeding tubes

Nasogastric tube placement verification

Using lidocaine gel or spray for N/G tube insertion

Best practices for managing diarrhea and fecal incontinence

Preventing infection associated with central venous lines

Enteral feeding and measurement of gastric residual volume

Medication Safety

National Patient Safety Goals

QSEN

Elderly abuse/neglect

Environmental Safety

Infection Control

NUR 1229

Safe intravenous catheter insertion

Preventing infection associated with central venous lines

Home care for the client with sickle cell anemia

Fluid and electrolyte monitoring for the client with congestive heart failure

Client monitoring during blood administration

Prevention of asthma exacerbations

Best practices related to safe oxygen administration

NUR 2214

Safe catheter insertion

Prevention of Foley catheter induced urinary tract infections

Administration of medications through enteral feeding tubes

Nasogastric tube placement verification

Using lidocaine gel or spray for N/G tube insertion

Best practices for managing diarrhea and fecal incontinence

Preventing infection associated with central venous lines

Enteral feeding and measurement of gastric residual volume

Medication Safety

National Patient Safety Goals

QSEN

Elderly abuse/neglect

Environmental Safety

Infection Control

NUR 2224

Continuation of community project into professional paper

Fluid and electrolyte monitoring for the client with congestive heart failure

Prevention of asthma exacerbation.

 

NUR 1119 Bibliography Card

PURPOSE: 

 begin the process for developing the student’s writing abilities and research skills needed for development of a professional paper.

 provide students an opportunity to record information using established guidelines.

REQUIREMENTS: 

1. select a topic with faculty approval that is relevant to content in NUR 1119.

2. review the literature for evidence-based practices for the chosen topic.

3. submit a copy of the article to the faculty advisor at the designated time.

GUIDELINES FOR BIBLIOGRAPHY CARD:

1. Paper must be typed, double-spaced and one half of a page minimum in length. The paper must be submitted to Canvas Turnitin.

2. The information on the bibliography card should include:

         a. the author’s information according to APA guidelines at the top of bibliography page.

         b. reader’s impression

               i. did the article provide practical, useable information.

               ii. how will the information affect your approach to nursing.

               iii. did the article alter your opinion about the topic.

               iv. statement on how the article applies to course content.

3. The source must come from a peer-reviewed/scholarly nursing journal (non-electronic or electronic journal article) and published within the last five years. Students will choose from provided list of nursing journals.

4. A mandatory rough draft must be submitted to designated faculty per semester calendar by designated due date.

5. The bibliography page, including references, should be completed according to APA guidelines. The bibliography page should also be completed using proper grammar, spelling and punctuation.

6. The bibliography page should be submitted to the designated faculty per semester calendar.

7. A copy of the reference article is required. Faculty may require electronic or paper copy.

8. If plagiarism is evident the student will receive a zero for the assignment.

REQUIRED FORMAT: Latest edition of APA or APA from https://owl.english.purdue.edu. As of April 2021, the latest edition is the 7th.

EVALUATION:

1. Bibliography card will be evaluated utilizing rubric for bibliography card.

2. See syllabus for evaluation criteria.

3. The Bibliography Page must be completed and submitted by the calendar due date. 

4. Only one submission will be permitted and the student will receive score earned.

5. Students who do not submit a Bibliography Page will receive a grade of "F" in course.

NUR 1229 Summary Table

PURPOSE: The purpose of the summary table is to:

 increase the student’s writing abilities and research skills needed for development of a professional paper.

 evaluate the important aspects of the literature.

REQUIREMENTS: 

1. select a topic relevant to content in NUR 1229/2224 and acquire approval from the faculty advisor.

2. review the literature for evidence-based practices for the chosen topic.

3. submit a copy of the literature to the faculty advisor at the designated time.

GUIDELINES FOR THE SUMMARY TABLE:

1. Provide a three column table with the following headings:

            a. Reference list.

            b. Purpose or Problem.

            c. Summary that includes the most important details about the literature.

2. The reference list should consist of three sources. One source of literature must come from peer-reviewed/scholarly nursing journals (non-electronic or      electronic journal article). The other source of literature must come from a book reference (Hinds CC Nursing Program required textbooks may be used    as this reference). All sources of literature must have been published within the last five years. One source must contain at least three authors.

3. The purpose/problem column should describe the author’s purpose for writing the literature/conducting research.

4. The summary should include the most important details presented in the literature.

5. Complete summary table according to APA guidelines;

            a. 1” margins

            b. Times New Roman

            c. 12 pt font

            d. References

6. The summary table should be submitted to the clinical faculty advisor via Canvas on or before date/time (as determined by your instructor)______.

7. Copy of the literature can be submitted to the faculty electronically or hand delivered per faculty request.

8. If plagiarism is evident the student will receive a zero for the assignment.

REQUIRED FORMAT: Latest edition of APA or APA from https://owl.english.purdue.edu

EVALUATION:

1. The summary will be evaluated utilizing rubric for the summary table.

2. See syllabus for evaluation criteria.

3. The paper must be satisfactorily completed with a 78 or greater to progress to the next semester/course. If on the first submission a 78 or greater is not        achieved than revision is required until a 78 is achieved. For example, if the first submission is a 65 than the highest grade that can be given is a 78 after    revisions are satisfied.

NUR 2139 Professional Paper

PURPOSE: The purpose of the paper is to:

 increase the student’s writing abilities and research skills needed for development of a professional paper.

 evaluate the important aspects of the literature.

 relate significance of selected topic to nursing practice.

REQUIREMENTS: 

1. select a topic relevant to NUR 2139/2234 and acquire approval from the faculty advisor.

2. review the literature for evidence-based practices for the chosen topic.

3. submit a copy of the literature to the faculty advisor at the designated time.

GUIDELINES FOR PROFESSIONAL PAPER:

1. A title page.

2. An introduction should be written that provides a brief summary of the literature. The summary should discuss only the most imperative details about the literature, such as the author’s intention in writing the literature.

3. The body of the literature review should demonstrate an understanding of the literature and include the main ideas. Citations should be included.

4. The conclusion should provide a summary of the review. The conclusion should also include nursing implications for practice. Nursing implications are things the nurse need to know about and take into consideration as you plan your care.

5. Schedule an appointment with your faculty advisor to review your professional paper topic by___ (as determined by your instructor)_____.

6. Schedule an appointment with your faculty advisor to review rough draft of paper by __ (as determined by your instructor)_______.

7. Additional conferences can be scheduled as needed with your faculty advisor.

8. The paper will consist of a minimum of 2 typed pages. This excludes title page and reference page.

9. The reference list should consist of three sources. Two sources of literature must come from peer-reviewed/scholarly nursing journals (non-electronic or electronic journal article). The other source of literature must come from a book reference (Hinds CC Nursing Program required textbooks may be used as this reference). All sources of literature must have been published within the last five years. One source must contain at least two authors.

10. The paper should be completed according to APA guidelines;

                  a. Formatting

                  b. Headings

                  c. Order of pages

                  d. Setting up title page

                  e. Page numbering

                  f. Crediting sources

                  g. References

11. The paper will not be graded if not the appropriate length or appropriate sources.

12. The paper should be submitted to the clinical faculty advisor via Canvas on or before date/time ___ (as determined by your instructor)____________.

13. Copy of the literature can be submitted to the faculty electronically or hand delivered per faculty request.

14. If plagiarism is evident the student will receive a zero for the assignment.

REQUIRED FORMAT: Latest edition of APA or APA from https://owl.english.purdue.edu

EVALUATION: (See Rubric for Professional Paper)

1. Paper will be evaluated utilizing rubric for professional paper

2. See syllabus for evaluation criteria.

3. The paper must be satisfactorily completed with a 78 or greater to progress to the next semester/course. If on the first submission a 78 or greater is not achieved than revision is required until a 78 is achieved. For example, if the first submission is a 65 than the highest grade that can be given is a 78 after revisions are satisfied.

NUR 2249

PURPOSE: 

 increase the student’s writing abilities and research skills needed for development of a professional paper.

 evaluate the important aspects of the literature.

 apply review of article to personal improvement of management and/or leadership skills.

REQUIREMENTS: 

1. select a topic relevant to NUR 2249/2254 and acquire approval from the faculty advisor.

2. review the literature for evidence-based practices for the chosen topic.

3. submit copies of the literature to the faculty advisor at the designated time.

GUIDELINES FOR PROFESSIONAL PAPER:

1. A title page.

2. An introduction should be written that provides a brief summary of the literature. The summary should discuss only the most important details about the literature, such as the author’s intention in writing the literature.

3. The body of the literature review should demonstrate an understanding of the literature and include the main ideas. Citations should be included.

4. The conclusion of the review should provide a personal appraisal of the review article, i.e. was the purpose of the article clearly demonstrated. The conclusion should also include a discussion that relates to personal improvement in management and/or leadership skills.

5. Schedule an appointment with your faculty advisor to review your professional paper topic by__ (as determined by your instructor)__________.

6. Schedule an appointment with your faculty advisor to review rough draft of paper by _ (as determined by your instructor)______.

7. Additional conferences can be scheduled as needed with your faculty advisor.

8. The paper will consist of a minimum of 3 typed pages. This excludes title page and reference page.

9. The reference list should consist of four sources. Three sources of literature must come from peer-reviewed/scholarly nursing journals (non-electronic or electronic journal article). The other source of literature must come from a book reference (Hinds CC Nursing Program required textbooks may be used as this reference). All sources of literature must have been published within the last five years. One source must contain at least three authors.

10. The paper should be completed according to APA guidelines;

                     a. Formatting

                     b. Headings

                     c. Order of pages

                     d. Setting up title page

                     e. Page numbering

                     f. Crediting sources

                     g. References

11. The paper will not be graded if not the appropriate length or appropriate sources.

12. The paper should be submitted to the clinical faculty advisor via Canvas on or before date/time __ (as determined by your instructor)________.

13. Copy of the literature can be submitted to the faculty electronically or hand delivered per faculty request.

14. If plagiarism is evident the student will receive a zero for the assignment.

REQUIRED FORMAT: Latest edition of APA or APA from https://owl.english.purdue.edu

EVALUATION: (See Rubric for Professional Paper)

1. Paper will be evaluated utilizing rubric for professional paper

2. See syllabus for evaluation criteria.

3. The paper must be satisfactorily completed with a 78 or greater to progress to the next semester/course. If on the first submission a 78 or greater is not achieved than revision is required until a 78 is achieved. For example, if the first submission is a 65 than the highest grade that can be given is a 78 after revisions are satisfied.

Off Campus Access

Hinds CC students, faculty, and staff can access materials on subscribed databases by entering HindsNet usernames and passwords when asked by our proxy server.  If you have forgotten your password, click here to reset it.

 

Required Format

Latest edition of APA or APA from Owl at Purdue

APA Style Guide

Required Reading