Paralegal Technology

In this fifth edition of his bestselling classic, Jay Feinman provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the American legal system. In the years since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been many important developments on the legal front. The Supreme Court has issued important decisions on presidential powers, freedom of religion, and personal liberty.

From building a checklist for research to outlining a memorandum, every aspect of the vital skills of research and writing is explained and illustrated in this practical and straightforward paperback.

LESSONS from the Top Paralegal Experts is a unique and much needed reference as there is nothing else like it for paralegal students and professionals on the market. It not only covers success stories about paralegal professionals but also shares their insights on how they do their work. The primary goal of the book is to help students learn hands-on techniques directly from paralegal leaders in the field. These top paralegal experts share the secrets that have helped them become the best of the best in their profession. The top fifteen paralegal experts helped to expand the paralegal profession and improve the efficiency of performing paralegal duties including creativity, leadership, expertise in their specialty, technical skills, knowledge, mentoring, and organization.

This resource produces the first comprehensive history of the state's federal courts from the inception of the Mississippi Territory to the late twentieth century. Using archival material and legal documents, David M. Hargrove untangles the state's complex legal history, which includes slavery and secession, the Civil War and Reconstruction, Jim Crow and civil rights.

The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create® includes current controversial issues in a debate-style forma designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills.

Presents a manual that assists law students or young lawyers in making important decisions by helping them identify specific goals and evaluate opportunities as they arise, reflect on changes in personal situations that affect their aspirations, and assess various trends within the profession that impacts their chosen practice.

A useful rundown on the positions, qualifications required, and opportunities in the paralegal field.

Get an edge on the other job applicants with Resumes for Law Careers, a resource packed with expert advice on creating concise, stylish resumes that will instantly get you noticed. With this go-to-guide you'll Get access to nearly 100 sample resumes and cover letters Organize and draft your resume with the aid of helpful worksheets Discover the common elements in the most popular resume formats Learn to use vivid, active verbs in your resume Find out how to format and submit resumes electronically In today's job market, an effective, eye-catching resume is essential for success.

From one of America's most inspiring political leaders, a book about the core truths that unite us, and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how best to act upon them, in her own life and across the life of our country.

A personal and empowering blueprint--from one of America's rising Democratic stars--for outsiders who seek to become the ones in charge

This insightful biography introduces readers to Justice Sonia Sotomayor, a remarkable woman with a single-minded pursuit of educational excellence, who rose from poverty in a Bronx housing project to a seat on the U.S. Supreme Court.

This definitive collection of beloved Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia's finest speeches covers topics as varied as the law, faith, virtue, pastimes, and his heroes and friends.

Compelling A-Z entries present definitions of important terms, biographies of central figures, and brief narratives of pivotal events that transformed civilizations and nations. Students will find quick and easily accessible answers to the difficult questions that arise while researching events, personalities and issues of the past.

Providing a chronological history of the US Constitution, this work places the seven articles and 27 amendments in the context of the social, political and judicial events that formed them, and examines issues and court cases where consitutional interpretation plays a key role.

The system of courts in the United States serves to enforce the laws of the nation as well as act as a check to make sure the other branches of government obey the powers set forth by the Constitution. Through a series of landmark court cases chronicled in this book with an explanation of their lasting impact the judiciary has shaped the laws of the nation.

A complete reference for legal writers and researchers, this book offers synonyms, antonyms and pronunciation guides for legal words and terms. And it covers how to use the legal phrase in a sentence.

This book defines 1,000 essential words from the worlds of civil law, estates, lending, and elder affairs, such as abatement, residuary beneficiary, trust deed, variable rate mortgage, right of rescission, and more.

A comprehensive, authoritative guide to the Supreme Court, this volume is an essential reference source for everyone interested in the workings of this vital institution and in the multitude of issues it has confronted over the course of its history.

Magill's Choice: U.S. Supreme Court is an affordable, comprehensive and up-to-date survey of the history and functions of the Supreme Court.