The following print books are available through Hinds Libraries. Stop by your campus library for details to check them out. Materials at another campus may be requested to be shipped to your campus. Use the search box below to find books by title, author, or subject.
Right, Wrong, and Risky by
Right, Wrong, and Risky provides simple, direct answers to questions about word choice, spelling, grammar, and punctuation; in straightforward alphabetical order. The answers are supported by thousands of up-to-date published usage examples. And the reader is told not just that particular usages are right or wrong, but why. In addition, Right, Wrong, and Risky nbsp;warns the reader about risky words like cleave and suspicious, and the many risky situations in which usage authorities disagree about what is and is not acceptable in Standard American English. For every such quandary, this book provides a risk-free solution. Browsers will learn why we tell stage performers to break a leg, why it's not really an insult to call someone a philistine or even a Neanderthal, and why it's wise never to use the word fortuitous or say the word forte aloud.
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book by
Whether it's for a professional document, a school paper, an Internet blog, or something more personal, effective communication depends on clear, concise and grammatically correct writing. Punctuation, spelling, and grammar rules can trip up anyone, while organisation and word choice can make writing memorable. or banal. Whether you are writing a term paper, a scientific article, a rsum, a business email, a text message, or presenting information in the social media, The Handy English Grammar Answer Book is an engaging guide to writing with clarity.
Do I Make Myself Clear? by
*New York Times Bestseller * One of NPR's Best Books of 2017 A wise and entertaining guide to writing English the proper way by one of the greatest newspaper editors of our time. Harry Evans has edited everything from the urgent files of battlefield reporters to the complex thought processes of Henry Kissinger. He's even been knighted for his services to journalism. In DO I MAKE MYSELF CLEAR?, he brings his indispensable insight to us all in his definite guide to writing well. The right words are oxygen to our ideas, but the digital era, with all of its TTYL, LMK, and WTF, has been cutting off that oxygen flow. The compulsion to be precise has vanished from our culture, and in writing of every kind we see a trend towards more--more speed and more information but far less clarity. Evans provides practical examples of how editing and rewriting can make for better communication, even in the digital age. DO I MAKE MYSELF CLEAR? is an essential text, and one that will provide every writer an editor at his shoulder.
Essay Do's and Don'ts by
RAYMOND, JACKSON ATC, VICKSBURG, & RANKIN. Now in a second edition, Essay Do's and Don'ts is a concise, practical guide on the fundamentals of essay writing loaded with research tips, writing samples, and practice exercises that will help students build the essential skills they need to produce well-written, highly effectiveessays.
MLA Handbook by
JACKSON ATC; RAYMOND. The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Word Rhythm Dictionary by
The Word Rhythm Dictionary: A Resource for Writers, Rappers, Poets, and Lyricists is a new kind of dictionary--one that reflects the use of "rhythm rhymes" by rappers, poets, and songwriters of today. This is an eminently practical reference work for all wordsmiths looking to add musicality to their writing. Users of this dictionary can alphabetically look up words in the General Index to find collections of words that have the same rhythm as the original word and are readily useable in ways that are familiar to us in everything from vers libre poetry to the lyrics and music of Bob Dylan and hip hop groups. Professional writers and students have long used traditional rhyming dictionaries for inspiration by perusing lists of rhyming words; they may ask themselves, "I need a word that rhymes with blue," and are led to shoe, flu, or you. These rhyming words evoke through juxtaposition new images, thoughts, and actions that inspire creative directions and pleasing twists as verses and stanzas unfold. For the first time ever, this dictionary now allows writers and poets to ask the same question, but of word rhythm-- "I need a word with the same rhythm as butterfly. . . . " Today's lyricists and poets know that there is so much more to the flow of their creations than just matching vowels. The Word Rhythm Dictionary organizes words by additional properties: phonetic similarity (alliteration and literary consonance), the number of syllables in words, and syllable stress patterns. Never has it been easier to locate words that feature similar sounds, matching meters, and rhythmic grooves, from traditional rhymes like "clashing" and "splashing," to near rhymes like "rollover" and "bulldozer," "unrefuted undisputed" to pure metrical matches, like "biology" and "photography." Additional appendixes allow readers to search according to poetic metrical feet and musical rhythm through a visual index of notated rhythms, allowing musicians and lyricists to track down words that match preexisting motives and melodies. This book could become the new fun addiction (or... addiction affliction...constriction conviction...conniption prescription...subscription conscription) for writers, musicians, lyricists, rappers, poets, and wordsmiths alike. Oh, and it's a lot of fun just to browse
RAYMOND. The internet isn't the first technology to alter how we communicate, but it is making our language change faster and in more interesting ways than ever before. The programmers behind the apps and platforms we use decide how our conversations are structured, from the grammar of status updates to the protocols of comments and @replies. Linguistically inventive niche online communities spread slang and jargon exponentially faster than in the days when new dialects were constrained by physical space. What's more, social media provides a fascinating laboratory for watching language evolve in real time.
RAYMOND. Knowing how to communicate through clear, articulate writing is an essential skill in today's world. Whether you're penning a college application essay, a paper for class, an email to colleagues, or a report for your boss, you need to be able express your thoughts clearly and with appropriate context. Writing Smart will walk you through each stage of your writing project, from planning your work and writing the first few sentences to editing and adding finishing touches! This 3rd edition includes sections on- * Quick review of essential grammar * Preparing to write, including outlines and research if needed * Proper use of words, punctuation, sentences, and paragraphs * How to edit your work efficiently * Tips and approaches for all kinds of writing, including personal essays; reviews, articles, and essay tests; research papers; professional letters and emails; lab reports; and project proposals
VICKSBURG. The pocket-sized handbook that does the work of a full-sized handbook, now with a new section on editing the errors that matter. Most handbooks include chapters on various general writing topics (e.g., the writing process or the elements of an argument), but few cover the specific kinds of writing students are assigned to do. The Little Seagull has chapters on reports, analyses, and all the other genres that college students are most often assigned. And because it's so small, so easy to use, and so affordable, it's proven to be a popular alternative to larger (and much more costly) handbooks. The third edition adds a new section on editing the errors that matter--and the option to include free access to InQuizitive for Writers, which provides practice in editing the same errors.
RAYMOND, JACKSON ATC, VICKSBURG, & RANKIN. Now in a second edition, Essay Do's and Don'ts is a concise, practical guide on the fundamentals of essay writing loaded with research tips, writing samples, and practice exercises that will help students build the essential skills they need to produce well-written, highly effectiveessays.
