APA Dictionary of Psychology by
This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
Key Concepts in Psychology by
Key Concepts in Psychology makes understanding psychology easy. It provides an accessible and comprehensive guide to the major terms and concepts encountered in psychology. The book has a fully comprehensive index, allowing the reader to follow themes running through the entries.
The Psychology of Prejudice and Discrimination by
Long after the end of the Civil War, the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s, desegregation in the schools, the abolition of anti-Asian legislation and the Women's Movement, the pernicious effects of prejudice and discrimination in U.S. society are still evident. Despite efforts to eradicate the injustice against people based on race, ethnicity, gender, disability, or other elements, prejudice and discrimination remain. In most cases, the display is more covert than in years past. Today the United States is embroiled in battles regarding Gay rights. Bias and disparities in services, opportunities, and practices affect quality of life, health, and mental health for all peoples. In these volumes focused on the psychology at issue, experts from across the nation and in different fields examine the state of prejudice and discrimination in America today, and each offers practical direction that can be taken by individuals, communities, and officials to create a more just society. Each chapter offers a toolbox of information on how to cope, how to keep oneself whole, how to seek validation of identity, how to raise children to dispel unfair images and perceptions, and how to work for societal change.
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy by
In this fast-paced information age, how can Americans know what's really important and what's just a passing fashion? Now more than ever, we need a source that concisely sums up the knowledge that matters to Americans -- the people, places, ideas, and events that shape our cultural conversation. With more than six thousand entries,The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy is that invaluable source. Wireless technology. Gene therapy. NAFTA. In addition to the thousands of terms described in the original Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, here are more than five hundred new entries to bring Americans' bank of essential knowledge up to date. The original entries have been fully revised to reflect recent changes in world history and politics, American literature, and, especially, science and technology. Cultural icons that have stood the test of time (Odysseus, Leaves of Grass, Cleopatra,the Taj Mahal, D-Day) appear alongside entries on such varied concerns as cryptography, the digital divide, the European Union, Kwanzaa, pheromones, SPAM, Type A and Type B personalities, Web browsers, and much, much more. As our world becomes more global and interconnected, it grows smaller through the terms and touchstones that unite us. As E. D. Hirsch writes in the preface, "Community is built up of shared knowledge and values -- the same shared knowledge that is taken for granted when we read a book or newspaper, and that is also taken for granted as part of the fabric that connects us to one another." A delicious concoction of information for anyone who wants to be in the know, The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy brilliantly confirms once again that it is "an excellent piece of work . . . stimulating and enlightening" (New York Times) -- the most definitive and comprehensive family sourcebook of its kind.
Social Workers' Desk Reference by
People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access torelevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continueto evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues.In the first and second editions of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, the changes that were occurring in social work practice, education, and research were highlighted and focused upon. This third edition continues in the same tradition and continues to respond to the changes occurring in societyand how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole. With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge andempirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the SocialWorkers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research.
Psychology for Teachers by
Psychology for Teachers explains how psychology can be intelligently applied to the classroom to meet the needs of different learners. It encourages teachers to review their own practice to develop a personal teaching style, supported by research findings and an awareness of the factors underpinning high-quality teaching. Focusing on how an understanding of psychological theory can support effective teaching and learning this book contains case studies and tasks to make sure that trainees really understand how theory can be meaningfully applied in the classroom.This new edition now comes with three brand new sections: Mental health, wellbeing & resilience Psychological skills Evidence-based teaching This book is relevant for anyone undertaking an Education Studies degree or doing Primary or Secondary teacher training - particularly for the professional studies teaching topics.
Psychology by
This volume is a comprehensive overview of the scientific discipline that studies psychological and biological processes and behavior in humans and other animals. It features chapters on the history of the field, the thought process, memory, theories of personality, and key figures, such as William James, Sigmund Freud, Jean Piaget, B. F. Skinner, and Daniel Kahneman, who helped shape the field. The difference between clinical psychology and the growing science of mind, brain, and social behavior is discussed, as are several subfields of psychology. A glossary offers a quick reference for definitions of key terms in the field. This comprehensive guide is the perfect introduction for students, in particular those studying the development of the field.
The Courage to Be Disliked by
Reading this book could change your life. "Marie Kondo, but for your brain" (HelloGiggles). "Compelling from front to back. Highly recommend" (Marc Andreessen). The Courage to Be Disliked, already an enormous bestseller in Asia with more than 3.5 million copies sold, demonstrates how to unlock the power within yourself to be the person you truly want to be. Is happiness something you choose for yourself? The Courage to Be Disliked presents a simple and straightforward answer. Using the theories of Alfred Adler, one of the three giants of nineteenth-century psychology alongside Freud and Jung, this book follows an illuminating dialogue between a philosopher and a young man. Over the course of five conversations, the philosopher helps his student to understand how each of us is able to determine the direction of our own life, free from the shackles of past traumas and the expectations of others. Rich in wisdom, The Courage to Be Disliked will guide you through the concepts of self-forgiveness, self-care, and mind decluttering. It is a deeply liberating way of thinking, allowing you to develop the courage to change and ignore the limitations that you might be placing on yourself. This plainspoken and profoundly moving book unlocks the power within you to find lasting happiness and be the person you truly want to be. Millions have already benefited from its teachings, now you can too.
Criminal Psychology and Personality Profiling by
Television programs and feature films present criminal psychology and profiling as a blend of psychic visions, supernatural intuition, and evidence analysis. The reality, however, is quite different. Using true-crime case studies from history and the present, examples from current and former FBI profilers, and informative sidebars, Criminal Psychology & Personality Profiling explores the many roles and responsibilities criminal psychologists and profilers fill as they support other professionals in addressing crime and its consequences. From crime-scene analysis to offering expert testimony in court, these behavioral scientists offer an understanding of crime, the criminal mind, and those affected by crime.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
Many psychology students dislike writing a research paper, their aversion driven by anxiety over various aspects of the process. This primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision - each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. Students learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time, and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, any student can not only get through their dreaded writing assignment, but become a more proficient writer.