Science Books within HindsCC Print Collections
The following print books are available through Hinds Libraries. Stop by your campus library for details to check them out. Materials at another campus may be requested to be shipped to your campus.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. No need to feel stressed over anatomy and physiology--grasp all the basic terms and concepts, with the fully updated Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy!, 5th Edition. Using humor and friendly guidance, this colorful text gives you the pure-and-simple clarity you need to understand the basic structure and functions of all major body systems, while also guiding you through genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and more. This handy quick-reference guide is the ideal NCLEX® study aid, textbook support, or quick refresher for nurses and other healthcare practitioners. Grasp the details of anatomy and physiology, in the Incredibly Easy!® way . . . NEW and completely updated content in easy-read format to simplify the core concepts of anatomy and physiology Defines anatomic terms such as cell structure, cell reproduction and energy generation, the four basic tissue types and their characteristics, and more End-of-book, pocket-sizedstudy cards for easy review anywhere, anytime Explains the forms and locations of body structures - the directional terms, reference planes, cavities, and regions of every major body system Dozens of full-color drawings and diagrams illustrating all major body systems--integumentary, musculoskeletal, neurosensory, endocrine, cardiovascular, and more, plus: fluids and electrolytes reproduction and lactation genetics nutrition chemical organization Special features include: "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - expert insights, key concepts, and important care reminders Zoom in - an up-close look at anatomic structures Now I get it! - complex physiology processes stated in easy-to-handle terms Just the facts - quick content summary at start of each chapter Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions at end of each chapter to help you retain what you learned Senior moment - explains physiologic changes that occur with aging in each body system Body shop - illustrates how body systems and structures work together Memory jogger - helpful tricks and tips to help you retain vital data Just for fun - fun puzzles for boosting your understanding of anatomical terms and pathophysiological concepts Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book NCLEX® practice questions, for solid exam preparation About the Clinical Editor Laura M. Willis, MSN, APRN, FNP-C, DNPs, is a Family Nurse Practitioner Specialist at Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics in Urbana, Ohio.
The Handy Anatomy Answer Book by
The Handy Anatomy Answer Book covers all the major body systems - integumentary (skin, hair, etc.), skeletal, muscular, nervous, sensory, endocrine, cardiovascular, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary and reproductive - and, for good measure, adds chapters on growth and development and how science can help and augment the body. It follows the fascinating maze of organ systems and shows how much the body is doing at any one moment just to let you move, breathe, eat and fight off disease. Fascinating trivia plus serious facts answer over 1200 questions about the body.
Anatomy 101 by
An all-in-one guide to the human body! Anatomy 101 offers an exciting look into the inner workings of the human body. Too often, textbooks turn the fascinating systems, processes, and figures of anatomy into tedious discourse that even Leonardo Da Vinci would reject. This easy-to-read guide cuts out the boring details, and instead, provides you with a compelling lesson in anatomy. Covering every aspect of anatomical development and physiology, each chapter details the different parts of the human body, how systems are formed, and disorders that could disrupt bodily functions. You'll unravel the mysteries of anatomy with unique, accessible elements like: Detailed charts of each system in the body Illustrations of cross sections Unique profiles of the most influential figures in medical history From cell chemistry to the respiratory system, Anatomy 101 is packed with hundreds of entertaining facts that you can't get anywhere else!
Exploring Anatomy and Physiology in the Laboratory by 
Evolution: a Very Short Introduction by
Less than 450 years ago, all European scholars believed that the Earth was at the centre of a Universe that was at most a few million miles in extent, and that the planets, sun, and stars all rotated around this centre. Less than 250 years ago, they believed that the Universe was createdessentially in its present state about 6000 years ago. Even less than 150 years ago, the view that living species were the result of special creation by God was still dominant. The recognition by Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace of the mechanism of evolution by natural selection hascompletely transformed our understanding of the living world, including our own origins. In this Very Short Introduction Brian and Deborah Charlesworth provide a clear and concise summary of the process of evolution by natural selection, and how natural selection gives rise to adaptations and eventually, over many generations, to new species. They introduce the central concepts of thefield of evolutionary biology, as they have developed since Darwin and Wallace on the subject, over 140 years ago, and discuss some of the remaining questions regarding processes. They highlight the wide range of evidence for evolution, and the importance of an evolutionary understanding forinstance in combating the rapid evolution of resistance by bacteria to antibiotics and of HIV to antiviral drugs. This reissue includes some key updates to the main text and a completely updated Further Reading section.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Improbable Destinies by
A major new book overturning our assumptions about how evolution works Earth's natural history is full of fascinating instances of convergence: phenomena like eyes and wings and tree-climbing lizards that have evolved independently, multiple times. But evolutionary biologists also point out many examples of contingency, cases where the tiniest change--a random mutation or an ancient butterfly sneeze--caused evolution to take a completely different course. What role does each force really play in the constantly changing natural world? Are the plants and animals that exist today, and we humans ourselves, inevitabilities or evolutionary flukes? And what does that say about life on other planets? Jonathan Losos reveals what the latest breakthroughs in evolutionary biology can tell us about one of the greatest ongoing debates in science. He takes us around the globe to meet the researchers who are solving the deepest mysteries of life on Earth through their work in experimental evolutionary science. Losos himself is one of the leaders in this exciting new field, and he illustrates how experiments with guppies, fruit flies, bacteria, foxes, and field mice, along with his own work with anole lizards on Caribbean islands, are rewinding the tape of life to reveal just how rapid and predictable evolution can be. Improbable Destinies will change the way we think and talk about evolution. Losos's insights into natural selection and evolutionary change have far-reaching applications for protecting ecosystems, securing our food supply, and fighting off harmful viruses and bacteria. This compelling narrative offers a new understanding of ourselves and our role in the natural world and the cosmos.
Fungi, Protists, and Algae by
Fungi, protists, and algae are among the most diverse life forms on the planet. Tiny protists range from plants to animals. Algae range from single celled plants to 60-foot-long kelp. Fungi occupy a kingdom of their own. Although their place in natureneither truly plants or animalsmay make them seem strange, they are actually quite familiar to us for their use in various foods, medicines, and biotechnologies. Indeed, our consumption of bread or reliance on penicillin would not be possible without these diverse eukaryotic organisms. This intriguing volume delves into the taxonomy, structure, and function of each group and evaluates their wide-ranging natural and societal impact.
Digestive Disorders by
From mild heartburn or stomachaches to severe bowel disease, digestive disorders affect an estimated 70 million people in the United States. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full color illustrations this title examines What Are Digestive Disorders? What Causes Digestive Disorders? What Are the Effects of Digestive Disorders? and How Are Digestive Disorders Treated?
Animal Life by
In a world occupied by creatures as diverse as gorillas, amoebas, herons, ticks, tapirs, and sea bass, the great variety of life in evidence throughout the animal kingdom is simply awe-inspiring. Scientists now believe that over 10 million species exist, inhabiting every corner of theearth--from the deserts of death valley to the depths of the Pacific Ocean to the arctic climes of Greenland. Some live for a day or less, others for more than a hundred years; some live underground, others in trees; some eat only plants, others only meat. But as diverse as the world's collectionof animals may seem, they share the same problems of survival and rely on the same principles of existence. For example, all species--from the smallest one-celled paramecium to the great blue whale--must feed, evade capture, maintain chemical stability within their bodies, and reproduce.Highlighting both the fascinating differences and striking similarities that come together in the animal kingdom, this engaging and up-to-date encyclopedia takes a close look at the biological and evolutionary processes that have shaped animal life from its very beginnings to the present. Richly illustrated and uniquely user-friendly, the encyclopedia features 48 essays, each designed to highlight basic knowledge about a key subject. Taken together, the essays comprise an exceptional overview of the animal kingdom that is accessible to students, browsers, and science enthusiastsalike. Topics as varied as the diversity of species, basic life processes, feeding, movement, growth and reproduction, and communication are all given lively, authoritative treatments. The book also contains a 32-page mini-encyclopedia that defines key terms highlighted in the main essays, a "timechart" that traces the development of studies of the animal kingdom from its earliest days to the present, a unique "knowledge map" that shows graphically how biology overlaps withother sciences such as ecology and genetics, and a special section that brings together a wealth of hard data in the form of attractive tables and graphs. Never before has the study of animal life been so comprehensively presented to such a wide variety of readers. With Animal Life: Form and Function in the Animal Kingdom in hand, students and general readers alike will have an invaluable guide to the remarkable animal kingdom at theirfingertips.
Smithsonian Institution Animal by
Unrivaled in its breadth and visual impact, this unique guide sets out to illustrate, describe, and explain the incredible range of creatures that make up the animal kingdom. Exceptional Coverage. This authoritative volume starts with a clear introduction to the animal world, examining the reasons for the apparently infinite variety of animal forms and major evolutionary developments. Animal anatomy, life cycles and the principles of classification are also explored. This is followed by a superbly illustrated survey of world habitats, showing how they have adapted to each environment, and the threats that face both wildlife and plants today. The main part of the book, an up-to-date and comprehensive animal catalog, looks in detail at each major group and provides fascinating profiles of over 2,000 individual species. Visually Breathtaking. Spectacular photographic portraits bring a vast array of animals vividly to life, with special features on well-known and important animals such as the Galapagos tortoise. Each species profile is supported by maps and symbols showing distribution and habitat, as well as key information on size, population, and conservation status, forming an invaluable reference database. Outstanding Reference. Clear, comprehensive, and thought provoking, the Smithsonian Animal is essential reading for wildlife enthusiasts of all ages and levels of experience.
A Forest in the Clouds by
In A Forest in the Clouds, John Fowler takes us into the world of Karisoke Research Center, the remote mountain gorilla camp of Dr. Dian Fossey, a few years prior to her gruesome murder. Drawn to the adventure and promise of learning the science of studying mountain gorillas amid the beauty of Central Africa's cloud forest, Fowler soon learns the cold harsh realities of life inside Fossey's enclave ten thousand feet up in the Virunga Volcanoes. Instead of the intrepid scientist he had admired in the pages of National Geographic, Fowler finds a chain-smoking, hard-drinking woman bullying her staff into submission. While pressures mount from powers beyond Karisoke in an effort to extricate Fossey from her domain of thirteen years, she brings new students in to serve her most pressing need--to hang on to the remote research camp that has become her mountain home. Increasingly bizarre behavior has targeted Fossey for extrication by an ever-growing group of detractors--from conservation and research organizations to the Rwandan government. Amid the turmoil, Fowler must abandon his own research assignments to assuage the troubled Fossey as she orders him on illegal treks across the border into Zaire, over volcanoes, in search of missing gorillas, and to serve as surrogate parent to an orphaned baby ape in preparation for its traumatic re-introduction into a wild gorilla group. This riveting story is the only first-person account from inside Dian Fossey's beleaguered camp. Fowler must come to grips with his own aspirations, career objectives, and disappointments as he develops the physical endurance to keep up with mountain gorillas over volcanic terrain in icy downpours above ten thousand feet, only to be affronted by the frightening charges of indignant giant silverbacks or to be treed by aggressive forest buffalos. Back in camp, he must nurture the sensitivity and patience needed for the demands of rehabilitating an orphaned baby gorilla. A Forest in the Clouds takes the armchair adventurer on a journey into an extraordinary world that now only exists in the memories of the very few who knew it.
Zoology by
The 10th edition of Zoology continues to offer students an introductory general zoology text that is manageable in size and adaptable to a variety of course formats. It is a principles-oriented text written for the non-majors or the combined course, presented at the freshman and sophomore level. Introducing SmartBook! For the first time Zoology, 10th edition is supported by SmartBook, an online learning tool that merges an eBook with adaptive assessments, creating an individualized experience for the students, adapting to their learning.