The following E-Books are available through Hinds Libraries. In order to access the E-Books off campus, you will need to sign in with your Hinds credentials (please use another browser aside from the Edge browser).
Welding Full Text E-Books
Welding by Richard J. Klein (Editor)Welding is a fabrication or sculptural process that joins materials, usually metals or thermoplastics, by causing coalescence. This is often done by melting the workpieces and adding a filler material to form a pool of molten material (the weld pool) that cools to become a strong joint, with pressure sometimes used in conjunction with heat, or by itself, to produce the weld. This book presents current research data in the study of welding, including the design of high brightness welding guns; electron beam welding; friction stir welding; limit load solutions for highly under-matched welded joints; fracture and fatigue assessment of welded structures; and laser transmission welding.
Frontiers of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Engineering III by Wenpei Sung (Editor); Jimmy Chih Ming Kao (Editor)Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2014 3rd International Conference on Frontiers of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Engineering (MEME 2014), November 21-23, 2014, Xiamen, China. The 227 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Materials, Technologies for Processing and Chemical Engineering; Chapter 2: Researching and Designing of Machines and Technological Equipment; Chapter 3: Measurements, Mechatronics, Control and Automation; Chapter 4: Communication, Information Technologies and Computational Algorithms.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Manufacturing Automation Technology and System II by Guanglin Wang (Editor); Chengcheng Liu (Editor); Yuefeng Li (Editor); Huifeng Wang (Editor); Nancy Yinger (Editor); Xiang Zhang (Editor)This special issue communicates the latest progress and research of new theory, technology, method, equipment in materials processing and manufacturing automation technology field, and to grasp the forefront technological and research trends worldwide, which will drive international communication and cooperation of production, education and research in this field. The major topics covered by the special issue include Experience and Paper of Education in Special Machining Technology, Process Monitoring and Quality Control of Manufacturing Systems, Industrial Robot Technology, Agile Manufacturing, Intelligent Manufacturing, Green Manufacturing, Virtual Manufacturing, Networked Manufacturing, Computer Integrated Manufacturing System and Contemporary Integrated Manufacturing System, Product Lifecycle Management, Computerized Numerical Control System and Flexible Manufacturing System, Precision Machining Technology, CAD/CAE/CAPP/CAM and Application of Product Data Management, Logistics Engineering and Equipment and Other Related Topics and so on. The guest editors would like to thank the contributors of papers, the reviewers and the Key Engineering Materials journal for helping put together this special issue.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Welding Engineering by David H. PhillipsProvides an introduction to all of the important topics in welding engineering. It covers a broad range of subjects and presents each topic in a relatively simple, easy to understand manner, with emphasis on the fundamental engineering principles. * Comprehensive coverage of all welding engineering topics * Presented in a simple, easy to understand format * Emphasises concepts and fundamental principles
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Applied Welding Engineering by Ramesh SinghWhile there are several books on market that are designed to serve a company's daily shop-floor needs. Their focus is mainly on the physically making specific types of welds on specific types of materials with specific welding processes. There is nearly zero focus on the design, maintenance and troubleshooting of the welding systems and equipment. Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes and Standards is designed to provide a practical in-depth instruction for the selection of the materials incorporated in the joint, joint inspection, and the quality control for the final product. Welding Engineers will also find this book a valuable source for developing new welding processes or procedures for new materials as well as a guide for working closely with design engineers to develop efficient welding designs and fabrication procedures. Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes and Standards is based on a practical approach. The book's four part treatment starts with a clear and rigorous exposition of the science of metallurgy including but not limited to: Alloys, Physical Metallurgy, Structure of Materials, Non-Ferrous Materials, Mechanical Properties and Testing of Metals and Heal Treatment of Steels. This is followed by self-contained sections concerning applications regarding Section 2: Welding Metallurgy & Welding Processes, Section 3: Nondestructive Testing, and Section 4: Codes and Standards. The author's objective is to keep engineers moored in the theory taught in the university and colleges while exploring the real world of practical welding engineering. Other topics include: Mechanical Properties and Testing of Metals, Heat Treatment of Steels, Effect of Heat on Material During Welding, Stresses, Shrinkage and Distortion in Welding, Welding, Corrosion Resistant Alloys-Stainless Steel, Welding Defects and Inspection, Codes, Specifications and Standards. The book is designed to support welding and joining operations where engineers pass plans and projects to mid-management personnel who must carry out the planning, organization and delivery of manufacturing projects. In this book, the author places emphasis on developing the skills needed to lead projects and interface with engineering and development teams. In writing this book, the book leaned heavily on the author's own experience as well as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (www.asme.org), American Welding Society (www.aws.org), American Society of Metals (www.asminternational.org), NACE International (www.nace.org), American Petroleum Institute (www.api.org), etc. Other sources includes The Welding Institute, UK (www.twi.co.uk), and Indian Air force training manuals, ASNT (www.asnt.org), the Canadian Standard Association (www.cas.com) and Canadian General Standard Board (CGSB) (www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca).
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Welding Essentials by William L. Glavey; Frank M. Marlow; Pamela Tallman (Illustrator); Lawrence Smith (Illustrator)As a concise yet thorough introduction to the topic, this new edition of Welding Essentials makes welding easy for beginners and is a handy reference for professionals. Its unique, comprehensive question-and-answer format will allow readers to quickly find what they are looking for and fully understand it. Eliminating non-essential items to prevent overloading readers, Welding Essentials addresses safety hazards and required precautions in detail and provides solutions to common problems for each process. Additionally, this valuable reference carefully explains step-by-step setup and shutdown procedures, along with why equipment grounding and GFI's are needed and the way in which they work. Welding tip sizes for differing metal thickness, as well as proper pressure settings for those tips and how to determine what the size is as related the non-standard numbering systems used by manufacturers. New and improved drawings throughout. Discussions on Carbon Arc Cutting with air, Plasma Arc Cutting, and Laser Cutting. More thorough information related to the proper sizing of oxy-fuel cutting tips and pressure charts, and bore drill sizes for the various tips. More thorough explanation of common welding elements. New information on the wire feeding process and more in-depth information related to the use of the tungsten electrodes. Friction stir welding process.
Welding Handbook, Volume 3 - Welding Processes, Part 2 (9th Edition) by O'Brien, Annette; Guzman, CarlosComprehensive information on solid-state and other welding and cutting processes. The book includes chapters on resistance, spot, and seam welding; projection welding; flash and upset welding; and high-frequency welding. In addition to a chapter on friction welding, a new chapter introduces friction stir welding, the process that has users excited about the significant advantages it offers. The most recent developments in beam technology are discussed in the greatly expanded chapters on laser beam welding and cutting, and electron beam welding.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2007
Welding Handbook, Volume 4 - Materials and Applications, Part 1 (9th Edition) by O'Brien, Annette; Guzman, CarlosThis comprehensive volume enlisted more than 50 experts in materials and materials applications assure its accuracy and the currency of its content. It is a great reference source for engineers, educators, welding supervisors, and welders. The handbook covers carbon and low-alloy steels: high-alloy steels: coated steels; tool and die steels; stainless and heat-resisting steels; clad and dissimilar metals; surfacing cast irons; maintenance and repair welding; and underwater welding and cutting.