The following print books are available through Hinds Libraries. Stop by your campus library for details to check them out. Materials at another campus may be requested to be shipped to your campus.
Modern Welding Technology by Howard B. CaryDesigned for courses in basic welding and welding technology, this introductory welding text contains coverage of the codes, materials, and processes necessary to become proficient in a complex industry. The technology of welding is growing and the book's focus on arc welding processes and the use of steel in construction reflect those changes while also providing coverage of basic principles and theory.
Call Number: TK4660 .C379 2002
Publication Date: 2001-05-24
Audel Welding Pocket Reference by James E. Brumbaugh; Rex MillerFeaturing updated charts dealing with the most common situations welding workers face on the job , this comprehensive, pocket-sized reference is based on recommendations from working professionals and covers welding symbols and definitions, types of joints and welds, typical welding station configurations, oxygen cylinders, arc-welding charts, U.S metric measures, and more.
Call Number: TS227 .B848 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-23
How to Weld by Todd BridigumWelding is a skill that any do-it-yourself enthusiast needs in his arsenal. It's only when you can join metal that you can properly repair and create. This book is the perfect introduction for neophytes and an excellent refresher for veteran welders, a work so comprehensive and so complete that most readers won't need any further instruction. How to Weld starts with a brief history of welding, an overview of the different types of welding, and a thorough discussion of safety practices. Longtime welding instructor Todd Bridigum describes various tools and types of metals, as well as techniques and types of joints. Bridigum discusses gas, stick, wire-feed (MIG and TIG), even brazing, completing each section with a series of exercises that fully illustrate the skills he has covered.
Call Number: TS227 .B7454 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
Welding Fabrication and Repair by Frank M. MarlowWritten by the coauthor of the best-selling book Welding Essentials, this practical guide provides insights, ideas, and tips for solving real-world fabrication problems. By presenting a broad range of methods from different welding specialties and a brief, clear understanding of the non-welding knowledge nearly all weldors must have to advance in their trade, Welding Fabrication and Repair can shorten the time needed to develop effective problem-solving skills. Created for weldors who know the basics and now want to put their skills to better use, this book is one of only a handful of truly "must have" welding references. A question-and-answer format, providing concise answers to each question. The capabilities of oxygen and exothermic lances; flame bending, flame straightening, line heating and panel shrinking; industrial threaded fasteners; specialized welding clamps, fixtures, welding platens, and cutting pyramids. Common welding tools, equipment and accessories, along with a listing of the leading suppliers and their web sites in a separate chapter. Welding and cutting tables including designs and advantages. Solutions to common welding problems. Detailed checklist of considerations in designing products with welds. 300 original illustrations fully explain concepts, ideas and insights. The ways weldors solve problems from building up a worn shaft with weld metal, to welding perforated steel screening onto frames, to extending the capacity of a welding machine. The most common pipe and vehicle welding methods, how weldments can replace castings, and the basics of the science of strength of materials. Structural steel practices for joints, column splices, bolting and guidelines for sizing welds.
Call Number: TS227 .M268 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-07
Farm and Workshop Welding by Andrew PearceA comprehensive, visual handbook for welding in the farm, home workshop, school workshop, blacksmith shop, or auto shop. Almost anyone can weld, cut, or shape metal. That's the starting point for this supremely practical book which helps the beginner to improve and the intermediate operator to broaden their technique. Its 10 sections describe all the major types of welds before progressing into trickier methods. With this comprehensive guide, you'll understand everything you need to know, from arc, TIG, MIG, and gas welding to plasma cutting, soldering, welding plastics, and more. Beyond welding metals and plastics, advice extends into the wider workshop with chapters on drills, cutting threads, and basic blacksmithing. Filled with helpful visuals and photography, detailed explanations, expert suggestions, and step-by-step directions, author and experienced welding instructor Andrew Pearce also lays out common pitfalls and mistakes, and how to avoid or correct them.
Call Number: TS227 .P3935 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Learn to Weld by Stephen ChristenaIn Learn to Weld, teach yourself to be a master of the craft with the step-by-step instructions, learning tools and troubleshooting for your welding needs. This book has instructions on Master MIG (an abbreviation for Metal Inert Gas) welding. and the metal fabrication techniques you need to repair, create, and duplicate projects in your home welding studio. Learn to Weld starts with the basics: setting up your studio, the right safety gear and safety procedures, and the equipment and materials you will need to begin with welding. With the help of step-by-step metalworking photos and tutorials, you will learn detailed techniques for cutting and grinding, and for joinery using a MIG welder. The book also contains a complete index for easy troubleshooting and quick reference. Everything you need to get started welding is inside the thorough DIY book. Practice the techniques and projects and you'll soon be able to repair, create, and duplicate metal fabrication projects in your own welding studio. Best of all, you will have both the fundamental skills and the confidence you need to create whatever is in your imagination. With Learn to Weld you'll be equipped to conquer a world of welding projects, whether itâ??s building something for your home, building a gift for a friend or expanding your list of skills for your career.
Call Number: TK4660 .C517 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Welding by Larry JeffusNow nearing its 30th year of publication, WELDING: PRINCIPLES & APPLICATIONS (WP&A), 7th Edition is the authoritative introduction to the subject of welding. It's designed for students in a wide range of academic and workforce training programs who want to pursue careers as skilled welders and welding supervisors. The text also supports the needs of learners who need to achieve a basic level of proficiency in welding in their chosen skilled trade. While covering the procedural and safety information all students need, WELDING: PRINCIPLES & APPLICATIONS also explains underlying theories. The combination of hands-on information with clear explanations of theory is a hallmark of this book. The depth of coverage allows it to be used as the core text in a multi-course welding curriculum, generally starting with shielded metal arc welding, and then covering other basic processes and more advanced techniques.
Call Number: TS227 .J44 2012
Publication Date: 2011-05-12
Welding by Don Geary; Rex MillerAvailable at: Raymond, Rankin, & Utica; LEARN THE ART OF WELDING FROM THE GROUND UP Filled with step-by-step instructions and detailed illustrations, Welding, Second Edition provides an easy-to-follow introduction to oxyacetylene welding and cutting, soldering, and basic metal properties. You'll learn how to set up your workshop, properly use welding equipment, design projects, work safely, and get professional results--even if you have no experience. With coverage of the latest tools, materials, and techniques, this fully updated, hands-on guide serves as an ideal beginner's tutorial as well as an on-the-job reference for experienced welders. Find out how to: Work with oxyacetylene welding fuels, equipment, and supplies Review other welding methods, including arc, tungsten inert gas, and gas metal arc welding Understand the properties and weldability of various metals Use the latest soldering tools and techniques Master brazing, braze welding, cutting metal, and welding thicker metals Follow welding safety procedures and troubleshoot problems Test your knowledge with end-of-chapter review questions Design and set up your own home workshop Build metal projects, including a gate, fireplace grate, and workbench
Call Number: TS228 .G425 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
Automotive Welding by Jeffery ZurschmeideAutomotive Welding: A Practical Guide is a practical book packed with useful information on the types of projects that a self-trained welder can complete and that a typical automotive enthusiast would want to undertake. Topics covered are the kinds of welding and metalworking available or commonly used, the tools required to perform welding tasks, the different types of welders available, basic welding techniques, grinding and cutting, various forms of sheetmetal work, frame repair and reinforcement, filling body holes and rust repair, tube steel projects, and more.
Call Number: TL278 .Z87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
The TAB Guide to DIY Welding by Jackson MorleyPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. GET STARTED WITH METAL INERT GAS (MIG) WELDING! A practical guide with step-by-step instructions and hands-on projects for newcomers to metalwork and MIG welding The TAB Guide to DIY Welding shows you how to get started with MIG welding and metalworking. Inside, you'll find illustrated step-by-step instructions formaking useful objects for around the home, as well as fun artistic projects. This easy-to-follow book takes you through setting up a metalworking studio, finding local resources for materials, and the safe operation of metal studio tools. Everything you need to know about MIG welding is here in one handy resource. You'll learn what steel is made of and the principles behind electrical welding. Then you'll learn how to acquire new steel, how to interface with steel suppliers,and how to find your own salvaged steel. After the basic principles of metalworking, hand and power tools arecovered--and they're put to use through hands-on projects that allow you to develop new welding skills and establishbuilding blocks for future tasks. By the end of the book, you'll be able to create successful metal projects on your own, like a pro! Illustrated instructions with photos and drawings provide step-by-step procedures and clear explanations Projects include useful items for around your home andgarden, including a log holder, plant stands and tables, arolling garden cart, and a barbeque grill Easy-to-follow examples and explanations for beginningartists, DIYers, and hobbyists Expert advice from an experienced teacher of MIGwelding courses Course supplement for classroom and shop instruction A list of online and local resources to help beginningmetalworkers access a metalworking community
Call Number: TS227 .M67 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Techcareers - Welding Technology by Joseph Abbott; Karen Mitchell SmithThis book provides a detailed overview to become a welding technician including the benefits, job options and skill requirements for succeeding in this rewarding career. Through course listings, welding programs and personal interviews with instructors, students, employers, and employees, anyone can gain insight into this exciting career field. Features include comprehensive listing of welding programs in the United States, an overview of educational requirements and career pathways and sample degree plans and additional sources of industry information.
Call Number: TS227.7 .A23 2011
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Welding Complete by Karen Ruth; Creative Publishing International EditorsA one-of-a-kind welding book exploring the practical and decorative aspects of welding, with an emphasis on the hardworking projects most popular with serious workshop enthusiasts. It includes information on tools and materials, metal basics, setting up shop, safety, welding and cutting processes, but also includes dozens of plans for metalwork projects.