Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cultural Research Assignment: Research Countries

For Reading Class

Databases for Finding Info on World Countries

Academic Source Premier

This database contains articles from journals, book chapters and newspapers.  To limit to newspaper articles, use the "Publication Type" limiter at the bottom of the search screen before the search begins.

A to Z:  The World

Select your country from the A - Z list or from the map.  From there, select from the menu on the left Country Profile > Demographic Summary and The People.  Also from the left menu, select Religion for religious demographics.  Explore!

CIA Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Collection of authoritative articles on variety of areas.

Newspaper Source

Selected full text for 114 major U.S. and international newspapers dating back to 1995.

Rick Steves Classroom Europe

A collection of short video clips covering range of topics: You’ll take a tour of the ancient Roman Forum; learn why people in Barcelona speak Catalan; ponder why pilgrims trek 30 days across northern Spain to Santiago de Compostela; see how and why Switzerland designed its major bridges and tunnels so they could be destroyed at the push of a button; and visit a vibrant market in the south of France. This site contains hundreds of such teachable clips and they add more all the time.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mary Beth Applin
Contact:
mary.applin@hindscc.edu
601-857-3380