How to Use the Library's Databases

Purdue University's OWL provides tips for evaluating sources, both print and online

From the University of Wisconsin @ Madison

From Walden University, this guide provides examples of paraphrasing, both ineffective and effective. Practice paraphrasing the Three Little Pigs.

A PDF by Judy Hunter at Grinnell College, this document provides extensive explanation and practice using and citing quotes and paraphrases.

Step-by-step instructions for writing, citing, and incorporating summaries (also useful for paraphrases). From Christine Bauer-Ramazani.

A three-class lesson plan for teaching, practicing, and evaluating paraphrasing. Includes links to PDF instructions and score sheets. From the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities Partnership.

From UC Berkeley, examples of several paraphrases of one paragraph.

From the University of Southern Mississippi - includes a pre and post test

From the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writer's Handbook

A handy chart to help you determine when and where in your APA Style essay to include question marks, colons, and more courtesy of the APA Style Blog

This thorough handout from Harvard College's Writing Program demonstrates how to "distinguish between your ideas and the ideas that come from your sources." By differentiating between outside material and your own ideas, you are on your way to ensuring that your readers will "know when you are speaking and when your source is speaking."

Introducing, formatting and punctuating quotes from UW-Madison

What if my author quotes another author? What do I do? Find out using this quick and handy page from Western Oregon University.

You can see sec. 6.4.7 in the MLA Handbook for help, as well.