Skip to Main Content

EDU 1613

Find Materials

Discover@Hinds Libraries

Search Articles, Books, and More...


Tips: Use this search box to find articles, books, eBooks, eReference, eAudio, and eVideos. Use key terms (not sentences) and join key terms with and (example: cancer and treatment).

For better viewing on mobile phones, download the EBSCO app for IOS or Google Play.

Use this search box to search the physical holdings of the library (books, DVDs, etc).

Discover@Hinds

Discover@Hinds

==========================================================================================
Individual eReference Collections

AtoZ The World
AtoZ The World has country guide information to 175 nations and includes information on societies, cultures, and maps.

AtoZ World Food
Recipes from 174 countries; articles on national and regional cuisine, dining etiquette, special occasion foods; beverages, sauces, food history, and more.

Biography Reference Bank
Full text profiles of notable individuals from biographical reference books.

 Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles covering all areas of information.
Gale Reference
Collection of reference books on a wide variety of subjects such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Salem History
Collection of history reference works including Milestone Documents, The Decades, Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Salem Health
Collection of award-winning health reference works such as Magill’s Medical Guide.

Salem Literature
Collection of literary reference works such as the Critical Insights series, Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Critical Survey of Poetry and Magill's Literary Annual and Masterplots, 4th Edition.
Salem Science
Collection of science reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Encyclopedia of Energy, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, and Encyclopedia of Global Warming. 

Discover@Hinds

Tips: At the moment, this search only includes videos from Films on Demand. Click on the database links below to search more titles.
Off-campus access requires a HindsNet login and password.

Popular Educational Career

SWANK

HOOPLA                     

Films on Demand (Academic and Technical)

Kanopy Films (Documentary)

Alexander Street Press (Health)

 Career & Job Search

Please click here for more information on streaming videos and additional search options.

Search for Articles

Discover@Hinds Libraries

Enter Keywords






Use and to join key terms (example: cancer and treatment).

Article Summary

Article Summary Guidelines

  1. Scholarly article (use Hinds Library website to locate) 
  2. Summarize (do not plagiarize-paraphrase)
    • First 1-2 paragraphs, cover important information from the article
    • Do not just focus on one part (such as the intro or conclusion) 
    • Identify author in first paragraph (ex: "John Smith (1994) states...")
  3. Include an ending paragraph that tells your opinion about the information in the article or how you can relate the information to your experience
  4. Double-space, 12 point, Times New Roman
    • Points will be deducted for grammar issues
  5. Accurately cite at then end using APA format
  6. Total length: 1 to 1 and 1/2 pages

Turning In

  • Use Canvas
  • Assignments- choose correct Journal Submission
  • Submit both your summary and the article itself (that you saved as an electronic copy)
  • You will not get full credit if you do not also submit the article

Article Review Grading Rubric

Category 20 15 10 5
Amount of Information All pertinent article topics are summarized (20) Topics are mostly addressed (15) One or two topics were addressed (10) A summary was attempted but major topics were left out of the summary (5)
Personal Reflection A clear personal reflection paragraph directly relates to the article information (20) A personal reflection paragraph mostly addresses some pertinent article information (15) An attempt is made to connect personal reflection paragraph to article summary (10) Personal reflection has little or nothing to do with the main topic (5)
Grammar No grammar mistakes (20) 1-2 grammar mistakes (15) 3-5 grammar mistakes (10) More than 5 grammar mistakes (5)
Source (topic per course outline)  Article is included and from a scholarly source (20) Article is included but not from a scholarly source (15) Article is included but not relevant to the topic or summary (10) Article is not included (5)
Citation Accurately cited in desired APA format (20) Accurately cited, but not in desired APA format (15) Incorrectly cited (10) No citation as per directions (5)
Total Points